IOPC July: A Smashing Success!

Categories: Events,India Poker Championship,News,News,Online poker,poker,Poker in India

gutshot web banner copyIt is the country’s biggest live tournament series and the India Poker Championship’s (IPC) online avatar India Online Poker Championship (IOPC) which ran for straight 10 days from 7-16 July with 55 tournaments on schedule carrying a guarantee of INR 2.3 crores. At the end of the series, the guarantees of all IOPC events held at TheSpartanPoker were crushed resulting in a total giveaway of INR 3.3 crores! The series had a range of formats, variants and buy-ins along with every tournament guaranteeing terrific value in prizepools. With a positive response from Pot-Limit Omaha lovers, TheSpartanPoker also added some high guarantee PLO tournaments into the mix along with DeepStack Turbo events and even a Progressive Knockout event among others.

The first edition of IOPC, 2017 happened in the month of January guaranteeing INR 1.35 crores. The series was scheduled for 7 days from 23-29 January. There were many winners including HighRoller champ Rajesh ‘bahubali’ Shukla, Nitin ‘DarkWorld’ Jain who shipped the Main Event and the highlight was the crowning of India Online Poker Champion Pradeep ‘lionroar29’ Nudurumati who topped the Player of the Series points leaderboard scoring maximum points for his consistent finishes through the series.

In the July edition, three individuals in particular were extremely happy as they ended up becoming millionaires by winning their respective events. Anuj Kodam, Sumit Sapra and Rajesh Mahapatra were the top finishers in the biggest events of this IOPC and each player took home a seven figure payday in the process. Here’s a look at each of these players along with thoughts on their monumental wins.

Rajesh Mahapatra
Winner – IOPC #54 ₹11,000 Main Event

Let’s begin is 32-year old Rajesh Mahapatra who has done his MBA in Finance and holds a full-time job of risk analyst in a financial institution. Poker happened in his life when he was surfing YouTube one day watching videos about Las Vegas. There he came across videos related to the World Series of Poker (WSOP). Like many others he got attracted to the game and started digging more information about it. From there he progressed to playing low stakes cash games in the local card rooms.

“IOPC gave me a hope to continue for playing poker, I was not sure if I will be able to play poker against such great professionals but IOPC and TheSpartanPoker gave me confidence that even I can make it big. It was an amazing experience I will cherish this win for a long time as this is my biggest win so far.”

Mahapatra overcame 660 players to lay claim to this title and picked up ₹12,04,500 for his winning effort.

Sumit Sapra
Winner – IOPC #42 ₹55,000 Super HighRoller

The next millionaire that was crowned in the IOPC is a very renowned player from the Indian circuit in Sumit ‘boronyx’ Sapra. He won the Super HighRoller. Sapra shared his message with us saying, “I would like to add that I feel really lucky to be able to pursue my passion for a living. In our pursuit of wealth and success we forget how fortunate we already are to be able to live the lives we have and follow our dreams. I just want to take a moment to appreciate that and be thankful to have the opportunity to do what I love.”

Sapra bested a field of 86 players on his way to a winning pay day of ₹12,83,250.

Anuj Kodam
Winner – IOPC #26 ₹27,500 HighRoller

IOPC July’s third millionaire is HighRoller winner Anuj Kodam who plays under the moniker ‘aatmaan’ on TheSpartanPoker. He claimed the title to become a millionaire barely after a month of standing as runner-up in June’s Millionaire tournament. Kodam is a 27-year old who compares poker with yoga and says, “Poker for me is a tool to examine my logical biases, emotional imbalances and consciously overcome various forms of mental crutches. It’s a journey towards a better you. When done intensely, like everything else, it transforms… like something akin to Yoga.”
Kodam defeated a field of 184 players to claim first place prize of ₹11,04,000.

Akshay Shah
Winner – IOPC Player of the Series

The other big winner Akshay ‘akshayshah93’ Shah who made a consistent run to ship the leaderboard for INR 5 Lakhs hard cash and also an amount of INR 1 Lakh which will go to a charity of his choice. His sheer determination saw Shah play in more than 50 tournaments in the series, coming in the money more than 10 times including shipped a tournament.

Read the full recap at

We would like to congratulate all the winners and those who made the money in all events. Stay tuned to our website for schedule updates of the next event.

Author: IndiaPokerChampionship

Leave a Reply