Welcome to India Poker Championship

The India Poker Championship (IPC) is India’s biggest and most popular tournament poker event which has been operating on the offshore casinos of Panjim, Goa since March 2010.

Typically an IPC lasts 4-6 days featuring tournaments with buy-ins ranging from INR 10,000 – 1,00,000. The IPC’s Main Event which takes place once a year is the annual highlight in its poker calendar. The winner of this prestigious Main Event is crowned the India Poker Champion for that season.

The first ever IPC event took place in March 2010 and drew respectable numbers for its inaugural edition. From then on, the IPC has grown from strength to strength bringing in record fields and breaking records in terms of attendance. From a quarterly event in 2010, the Championship become a bi-monthly event taking place every alternate month in 2011. Another exciting introduction from the start of the 2011 season was the India Player of the Year (IPOY) ranking system. The IPOY awards points to consistent players across IPC events and awards the winner of the POY with a year-long sponsorship which means a free entry into all IPC editions of the coming season including the Main Event! A similar sponsorship package is also awarded to the India Champion as well.

In 2013, the IPC held its first ever international event hosting IPC Colombo in the capital city of the neighbouring island nation of Sri Lanka. The series took place from 04-08 September in Bally’s Casino, Colombo. Soon after, the IPC team expanded the scope of the IPC into the online arena by way of the India Online Poker Championship (IOPC). Set up initially as a freeroll series, the IOPC was an initiative to allow players to compete online and gain leaderboard points to win free seats into the live IPC events. As the game evolved so did the IOPC. The series is hosted at SpartanPoker.com and today it is recognised as the biggest online poker tournament series in the country giving away crores in guaranteed prizepools and cool prizes like high end automobiles, motorcycles and electronic gadgets to the winners.

The India Poker Championship is the brainchild of Peter Abraham and Sameer Rattonsey who follow the game with an almost obsessive passion in the past decade that they’ve been playing it. In 2013, they were joined by two other stalwarts from the domestic poker circuit. Rajeev Kanjani, a well known player and founder of the Aces Unlimited brand of tournaments and veteran poker club operator Amin Rozani joined Abraham and Rattonsey to make this one of the most dynamic and innovative teams in the country’s ever growing poker industry. Their mission is simple – provide Indian poker players with a world class poker experience at the India Poker Championship. They firmly believe it’s time for India and the subcontinent to make its presence felt on the global poker map and they want the IPC to be the stepping stone that will propel Indian players to great success on the world poker circuit.